2008 International Conference on Microelectronics (MIEL)

- by Ninoslav Stojadinović

The 26th International Conference on Microelectronics (MIEL 2008) was held on 11-14 May 2008 at the Faculty of Electronic Engineering, University of Nis, Serbia. The conference was organized by the IEEE ED/SSC Serbia and Montenegro Chapter in cooperation with the Faculty of Electronic Engineering (University of Niš), Ei-Holding Co., and National Society for ETRAN, under cosponsorship of the IEEE Electron Devices Society, in cooperation with the of IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society, and under auspices of Serbian Ministry of Science, Serbian Academy of Science and Arts, Academy of Engineering Sciences of Serbia and City Assembly of Nis.

The Workshop on Nanotechnologies, held on 11 May, attracted a lot of interest and was an excellent introduction to the main technical program, which consisted of ten regular sessions: Nanotechnologies, Microsystem Technologies, Opto and Microwave Devices and ICs, Processes and Technologies, Physics and Modeling, Modeling and Simulation, Reliability Physics, System Design, Circuit Design and Testing, and Circuit and System Design. The attendees, 37 domestic and 95 foreign, came from 36 different countries. The total of 18 keynote invited papers and 118 regular contributions (75 in oral sessions and 43 posters) were presented. The conference proceedings (two volumes, 607 pages) were published through the IEEE Book Broker Program.

The keynote invited speakers were: A. Lakhtakia (Pennsylvania State University, USA), S. Oda (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan), Z. Djurić (IHTM-CMTM, Belgrade, Serbia), E. Sangiorgi (University of Bologna, Cesena, Italy), P.I. Hagouel (Thessaloniki, Greece), Z. Petrović (Institute of Physics, Belgrade, Serbia), C.K. Sarkar (Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India), R. Singh (Clemson University, USA), R.S. Popović (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland), S. Dimitrijev (Griffith University, Nathan, Australia), L.K. Nanver (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands), M.J. Deen (McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada), P. Colpo (European Commission Joint Research Centre, Ispra, Italy), V. Litovski (University of Nis, Serbia), M. Lundstrom (Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA), S. Selberherr (Technical University of Vienna, Austria), G. De Mey (University of Ghent, Belgium), and S. Mijalković (Silvaco Technology Centre, Cambridge, United Kingdom).

Based on evaluation of the quality of the papers and presentations, three Best Paper Awards were presented to E. Miranda (Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Bellaterra, Spain) for an oral paper "Progressive Breakdown Dynamics in HfSiON/SiOn Gate Stacks", to N. Nedev (Universidad Autonoma de Baja California, Mexico) for a poster paper "Memory Effect in MOS Structures Containing Amorphous or Crystalline Silicon Nanoparticles", and to V. Martinez (ST Microelectronics, Crolles, France) for a student paper "How to Monitor Metal-Insulator-Metal (MIM) Capacitors Dielectric reliability". In addition, Microelectronics Reliability journal awarded the paper "Correlation Between Flicker Noise and Current Linearity in Ferromagnetic-GaAs-metal Tunnel Contacts" by K. Fobelets (Imperial College London, United Kingdom).

As is among best traditions of MIEL, the social program of this year's conference issue was particularly rich, with a conference banquet and gala-dinner as highlights. Besides the high quality of presentations, MIEL conferences are generally flavored by friendly atmosphere and great hospitality of the local people. This special charm adds to very positive impressions the participants bring from the conference, and is one of the reasons why one rarely attends MIEL just once: one who comes will almost certainly come again. So, we are very much looking forward to welcoming old and new friends at MIEL 2010.



Professor Ninoslav Stojadinović addressing the audience at MIEL 2008 Opening Session.



Professor Enrico Sangiorgi addressing the audience at MIEL 2008 Opening Session.